About ECJ


The Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ)   came into being on December 1, 2006. The Commission replaced the Electoral Advisory Committee (EAC) that had been established in 1979. The EAC paved the way for the establishment of the Commission which is now a permanent independent and autonomous authority that  reports directly to Parliament.

The objective of the Commission is to safeguard the democratic foundations of Jamaica by enabling eligible electors to elect, through free and fair elections, their representatives to govern Jamaica.

The day-to-day operations of the ECJ are  carried out through  the Electoral Office of Jamaica (EOJ) which is a public government agency established in 1943 to administer the holding of Parliamentary and Local Government Elections.

The holding of Parliamentary and Local Government  Elections and all activities pertinent to these elections are regulated by the Representation of People Act (ROPA) and the Local Governance Act.



The Electoral Commission comprises four Selected Members, four Nominated Members which include two persons nominated by the Prime Minister and two nominated by the Leader of the Opposition and the Director of Elections.
One of the Selected Members is appointed Chairman of the Commission.

The Director of Elections manages the operations of the  EOJ and reports to the Commission.

The Electoral Office is divided into three main departments:

  • Administration
  • Field Operations
  • Information Systems


There are sixty-three (63) Constituency Offices (Registration Centres) islandwide.



Our mission is to so conduct national elections so that no advantage is given to any party or individual contesting the polls, ensuring that the objective of one man one vote is met under the six stated principles of universal adult suffrage.


  • Conduct local government and parliamentary elections and referenda
  • Monitor electoral funding and financial disclosure requirements.
  • Determine polling division and constituency boundaries.
  • Use Geographic Information System (GIS) to record and define boundaries.
  • Continuous registration of electors and residence verification of applicants
  • Prepare the voters list, updated every six months on May 31 and November 30 of each year.
  • Print and issue voter ID cards. We also produce ID cards for external agencies.
  • Conduct external elections for schools, universities, associations and organisations
  • Recruit and train  Election Day workers
  • Produce and print electoral maps for planning and general information.
  • Voter education



Bookmark and Share

Are you on the voters list?

The Voters' List is a fundamental component of any voting system. The primary purpose of the voters' list is to confirm the eligibility of voters to participate in parliamentary and local government elections. The voters' list is printed every six months, May 31 and November 30 each year.


Click here to query voters' list.

Click here for more details

Latest Twitter

Contact Electoral Commission of Jamaica

43 Duke Street, Kingston, Jamaica
Tel: (876)-922-0425-9
Toll Free: 1-888-991-VOTE (8683)
 Fax: (876) 922-4058